Artists of Color (BIPOC)

This is for artists who identify as Black, Indigenous and/or as a Person of Color and is open to different media. If you feel this group description does not represent you, please also consider one of the other interesting groups on this Prize for Art. My goal is to give all artists in the Bay Area a place they feel is appropriate. Your artwork can also be entered in more than one category.

If you are a Viewer and visitor, please take a look below at some of the art that has been created in the 9 counties of the Bay Area and in Sacramento and Santa Cruz counties in this first ever Bay Area regional art prize. There are other categories you will find very interesting, please visit this one and all the others as well.

And if you are a viewer, please consider donating a tax-deductible donation or purchase a print from this website from some other Bay Area artists who want to sell some of their work to help fund this first ever regional Prize for Art!

If you are an artist and participated in the Prize, you can upload up to eight (8) of your works of art for $10 each. Your work will be reviewed and then placed immediately on this website for everyone to see, in one of more of the juried categories. Your work will then be eligible for a Winning Prize or Honorable Mention. There will be a winner at $500 and an essay and 4 honorable mentions at $100 each! The awards will be cash awards or a gift certificate to a Bay Area store specializing in art-related services for the Artists of Color group. As well there are 2 more voted awards which artwork will also be eligible for, to be voted on after the Prize for Art closes November 1 and voting ends on November 15!

Each category is awarded separately. Each artist is eligible for one award per category. Works that have won in the previous Prize for Art are not eligible for the 2023 Sheridan Prize for Art. The Winner and Honorable Mentions will be announced here as soon as possible after November 15! Please also come back after that date to see the results. Good luck everyone!

Haseem Abdallah

Hasseem Abdallah – Juror